Skip to content

safeMedicate Competence Assessment Model

Three types of assessment are undertaken in the safeMedicate Essential Skills Program:

  1. Foundation Numeracy Assessment (FNA): This 40-pointfive-option, diagnostic multiple choice question (MCQ) assessment is designed to assess the student’s fundamental numeracy skills on entry to the undergraduate pre-registration programme and focuses on evaluation of foundation calculation competence (See Safety in Numbers 2).
  2. Authentic Diagnostic Assessment (ADA): This 90-point and 150-point assessment (associated with the 1st, 2nd & entry to register assessment progression points of the NMC (2010) ESC 33) uses a scaffolded framework that is designed to diagnose the progressive development, integration and assessment of conceptual competence, calculation competence & technical measurement competence (See Safety in Numbers 6).
  3. Authentic Assessment (AA): This 50-point assessment focuses on evaluation of competence under virtual simulated clinical conditions, prior to entry to the register as a registered nurse (RN) or healthcare practitioner (See Safety in Numbers 5).

Back to contents

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

%d bloggers like this: